Saint Francis Cloister

 

 

Venne infratanto in Subiaco (…) il santo conosciuto col nome di Francesco di Assisi (…) . Ad esso l’Abbate (…) donò la Chiesa di S.Pietro sopra l’Aniene…

Livio Mariani, Storia di Subiaco

 

By reading the chronicles, it seems that in Subiaco more Saints than Christians have passed through! In 1223 Cardinal Ugolino, the future Pope Gregory IX, accepted to consecrate a new chapel in the Monastery of Saint Benedict in Subiaco, and asked Saint Francis, who obviously haven’t been saint yet, to come along. But he was quite famous indeed, so much as to receive a present from Subiaco’s Abbot: the ancient Saint Peter’s oratory, located at the gates of the city.

We don’t know if Saint Francis appreciated it. We certainly know that Sublacensis people came promptly in contact with Franciscan spirituality, so much as to finance the construction of the cloister that we can see nowadays. A cloister as simple in his structure as fascinating in his position, a sacred space in which artworks of extraordinary quality are enclosed.

The altarpiece made by Antoniazzo Romano in 1464 shields a Virgin Mary so beautiful as to be easily compared with Botticelli’s mistresses. The nearby chapel frescoed by Antonio Bazzi, called Il Sodoma, tells us Virgin Mary’s life through episodes of uncommon humanity, in which domestic animals enlivened the houses and the clients were depicted with their typical Sublacensis clothes.

Informazioni

Orari Le suore aprono ai visitatori che chiedono di poter visitare la chiesa. Perciò è bene usare buon senso nello scegliere l’ora in cui citofonare.

Funzioni religiose Sabato ore 16.00 Domenica ore 9.00 e 11.00

Costi entrata gratuita, ma si raccomanda di lasciare un’offerta alle suore.

Parcheggio si, anche per pullman

Servizi foresteria

Convento di San Francesco

 

[shareaholic app=”share_buttons” id=”17473750″]

By reading the chronicles, it seems that in Subiaco more Saints than Christians have passed through! In 1223 Cardinal Ugolino, the future Pope Gregory IX, accepted to consecrate a new chapel in the Monastery of Saint Benedict in Subiaco, and asked Saint Francis, who obviously haven’t been saint yet, to come along. But he was quite famous indeed, so much as to receive a present from Subiaco’s Abbot: the ancient Saint Peter’s oratory, located at the gates of the city.

We don’t know if Saint Francis appreciated it. We certainly know that Sublacensis people came promptly in contact with Franciscan spirituality, so much as to finance the construction of the cloister that we can see nowadays. A cloister as simple in his structure as fascinating in his position, a sacred space in which artworks of extraordinary quality are enclosed.

The altarpiece made by Antoniazzo Romano in 1464 shields a Virgin Mary so beautiful as to be easily compared with Botticelli’s mistresses. The nearby chapel frescoed by Antonio Bazzi, called Il Sodoma, tells us Virgin Mary’s life through episodes of uncommon humanity, in which domestic animals enlivened the houses and the clients were depicted with their typical Sublacensis clothes.

Convento di San Francesco

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Utilizzando il sito, accetti l'utilizzo dei cookie da parte nostra. Maggiori informazioni.

Questo sito utilizza i cookie per fornire la migliore esperienza di navigazione possibile. Continuando a utilizzare questo sito senza modificare le impostazioni dei cookie o cliccando su "Accetta" permetti il loro utilizzo.

Chiudi